Toggle Point Symbols

Text Size:


Hospital contact numbers

Urology, Orthopaedic and emergency medicine doctors scoop top awards for Morecambe Bay's hospitals

26 March 2021

Dr Sarah Hart Urologist UHMBT.jpgDoctors at University Hospitals of Morecambe Bay NHS Foundation Trust (UHMBT) were honoured earlier this month at the Health Education England SAS awards evening.

Ms Sarah Hart won the SAS Quality Improvement Award for her work in implementing the e-Handover system, working with the Trust's Informatics team. Ms Hart has implemented electronic ward notes and has trialled e-referrals. She was also honoured recently by the iWantGreatCare patient feedback website for her dedication and excellent patient care at UHMBT.

Mr Husam Elbana and Dr Muhammad Zeeshan Azhar, who achieved entry onto the Specialist  Register in Orthopaedics & Emergency Medicine respectively through CESR (Certificate of Eligibility to the Specialist Register) route, won the CESR Achievement Award.

Mr Husam ElbanaIt is exciting that Mr Elbana is the first to achieve this from the Orthopaedic department in our Trust. It is fantastic that the hard work of these doctors was recognised and congratulations go to all of them. All three are grateful for the support from the Trust for their achievements.

Ms Hart said: "I was delighted and surprised to receive the award. It's a great honour and testament to the entire team who have helped me to implement the new system. It's great that the improvements to patient care are recognised."

Mr Elbana said: "I'm really proud to be the first doctor from the Orthopaedic Department to achieve entry to the specialist register through CESR route. It is a great honour and my thanks go to my colleagues for their help and support. UHMBT is one of the best places to work in the NHS."

Muhammad Azhar, SAS Award winner.jpgDr Azhar said: "It is fantastic to be honoured in this way and my thanks go to all of my colleagues and the management in the Trust who have supported us in our efforts."

Deputy Medical Director, UHMBT, Robin Proctor, said: "I want to congratulate all three of our doctors for their dedication and hard work in achieving these awards. All three have shown their quality to the awards panel and we are pleased to have supported them."